top of page
Piet Jozef Swerts - INSIGHTyourINSIDE


AR 013
Piet Jozef Swerts
Piet Jozef Swerts - INSIGHTyourINSIDE

Piet Jozef Swerts (1960) is one of Belgium’s prime composers of accessible music in the postmodernist vein. On his first Antarctica release, he sets himself the considerable challenge of assembling a largescale piano texture from smaller sonatas without relying on worn-out romantic formats. Following the example of Bach’s Das Wohltemperierte Klavier, Swerts writes and plays polyphonic music with a modern twist, taking off with Scarlatti at his jazziest, but also echoing Mozart, Wagner, and Purcell. Framed in the baroque tradition, the new music of Swerts sounds scintillatingly smart, but not cerebral, and his straight strung piano embodies the old-new paradox by fusing modern Steinway comfort with the colour and register versatility of a pianoforte

Piet Jozef Swerts - INSIGHTyourINSIDE
    1. Sonata in a: Burano (06:48)
    2. Sonata in A: Primavera (06:05)
    3. Sonata in d: Lacrimosa (07:14)
    4. Sonata in D: Consolation (07:05)
    5. Sonata in g: Ground (07:20)
    6. Sonata in G: Pastorale (05:35)
    7. Sonata in c: Arioso (04:12)
    8. Sonata in C: Cascade (02:51)
    9. Sonata in f: Cantilena (04:52)
    10. Sonata in F: Saltarella (02:34)
    11. Sonata in bes: Mahnmal (07:06)
    12. Sonata in Bes: Epitome (03:06)

    1. Sonata in es: Wohltemperiert (03:36)
    2. Sonata in Es: Alla Turca (04:35)
    3. Sonata in gis: Purple (05:54)
    4. Sonata in As: Silence (06:18)
    5. Sonata in cis: Grief (05:04)
    6. Sonata in Des: Riff (03:29)
    7. Sonata in fis: Schicksal (03:51)
    8. Sonata in Ges: Facile (04:09)
    9. Sonata in b: Sturm und Drang (03:13)
    10. Sonata in B: Ilo (02:56)
    11. Sonata in e: O Haupt (03:54)
    12. Sonata in E: Feofaniya (06:00)
bottom of page