Aton'&Armide - En blanc et noir

A project, a dream. Three composers, about a century apart, sharing their own way of searching for colors and how to express them. Four compositions for cello and piano that explore just as many ways of performing: an original work on gut strings and with the piano of the composer, a short piece for piano in a transcription for cello and piano, a wide-ranging composition for cello and piano with preparations and finally, a work for cello, piano and electronics. An example of how music has evolved in the past century, using basically the same two instruments. A century in color, so it seems. The various works have one common feature, namely, that they are part of a cycle. Claude Debussy called the cello sonata ‘La première pour violoncelle et piano’, after which he would only complete the sonata for flute, viola and harp and the sonata for violin, of the planned collection of six. Daan Janssens’ composition is part of a cycle ( Paysages - études ), which came into being between 2010 and 2015 and of which (...nada.) is the third part, and each of the ‘Trois Chants pour mieux voir’ by Jean-Luc Fafchamps stand as compositions of themselves, but the three of them also form a single, intense story.


1 Trois chants pour mieux voir - I. Par en-dessous 14:03 2 Trois chants pour mieux voir - II. Derrière le mur 05:20 3 Trois chants pour mieux voir - III. En dedans 12:50 4 Sonate pour Violoncelle et Piano - I. Prologue - lent 04:54 5 Sonate pour Violoncelle et Piano - II. Sérénade - Modérément animé 03:12 6 Sonate pour Violoncelle et Piano - III. Finale - Animé 04:02 7 Nada 23:17 8 Elégie 02:41




Kanunnik De Deckerstraat 22 
2800 Mechelen, Belgium


Phone: +32 (0)15/63.79.30




© 2021 Antarctica Records. All rights reserved.